Rich History

The city of Rancho Cucamonga, CA has loads of rich history. With the motto of “Gateway to a Southern California Adventure,” expect to visit a city that offers all types of activities for your family to love.

It doesn’t matter how you spend your time there. The city is located on historic Route 66, and it is home to plenty of other exciting adventures. For example, golf at a course that was designed by Arnold Palmer. Or attend a thrilling minor league baseball game. You can also take in live theater performances, visit museums, dine in gourmet eateries and shop. Also, the city and surrounding area has numerous trails for horseback riding, hiking and biking.

Landmarks and Historic Buildings in Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Have fun at your leisure. Visit and explore some of the many landmarks and historic buildings in Rancho Cucamonga CA. The following are some of the more common ones:

John Rains House

This house is one of the most visited homes in Rancho Cucamonga. It played a very big part in how the city was founded and developed. The home was built in 1861, and it is located on Vineyard Avenue. The original owner was John Rains, who is credited with founding Rancho Cucamonga.

The John Rains House is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. Visitors can get a taste of how people lived during the 1800s. There are tours that provide memorabilia about the home and its time period.

Chafey-Garcia House

Even though it is very small, the Chafer-Garcia House is an elegant museum with a deep rich history. It is one of many favored historic buildings in Rancho Cucamonga CA. It has dark wood furniture that is positioned around a cozy fireplace. The home still has its original pocket doors. It provides vast memories of a time that is long since passed. Tours are available on every second Saturday of the month from 10am to 3pm.

Archibald Library

This was the first municipal library in the Rancho Cucamonga area, and surprisingly, it just opened its doors in 1994. The library has 24 computers, and it offers free computer classes.

In 2010, the library received Play and Learn Islands. This made it easier to introduce young community members to technological advances via play and learning activities.

The Archibald library also has a large selection of used books, magazines and cards.

Thomas Vineyard Company Winery

The Thomas Vineyard Company Winery is one of the oldest Rancho Cucamonga landmarks. It was built in 1839, and it is actually the oldest winery in California. Governor Juan B. Alvarado of Mexico granted Rancho Cucamonga to Tapia, and John Rains made a lot of add-ons.

In 1920, it was bought by Hugh Thomas and evolved into a successful Route 66 business once Prohibition was repealed. Through the years, there have been many building renovations, and numerous businesses are housed there. The area around the building is a retail complex, and a lot of the winery’s equipment is displayed in the parking lot.

The H.D. Cousins House

This house which is also known as the Christmas House, is a Victorian styled home that was built in 1904. The original owner was H.D. Cousins, who liked to throw extravagant parties during the Christmas season. The home’s décor is a holiday showpiece because of its green and red stained-glass windows, which were situated in the upper side gables.

Statue of Oso Bear

In 1932, the Statue of Oso Bear was built to honor California pioneers. It faces the east to commemorate pioneers who approached from this direction during their wagon trains. The bear, which was erected by the Native Daughters of the Golden West, is 3 feet tall. It is bolted to a 3 foot base made out of concrete.

Mexicans, Spaniards, Native Americans and Americans used Bear Gulch as a stopping spot. It was the first place to find water when traveling from San Bernardino.

Cucamonga Rock Church

In 1907, this church was built by Henry Klusman and community volunteers. In 1909, it was dedicated. It is a Mission Revival styled building with two stories and a steeple roof. It is said 337 horse drawn wagons of stone were used to construct this Rancho Cucamonga landmark.

Its original name was Cucamonga Community Church, and it was built for members of all faiths. The building was just retrofitted seismically, and it is an ideal location for special events and weddings.

Alta Loma Honor Roll

This Rancho Cucamonga landmark is a located at Amethyst Fire Station 171. It was built in 1942 to memorialize Alta Loma veterans who were in the Korean and Vietnam Wars.

The landmark was moved to its current location in 1992 as a part of an Eagle Scout project. Firefighters at Station 171 renovated the building and added benches, a flagpole and a rose garden to the memorial. The community helped to pay for the renovations by purchasing the engraved bricks that line the memorial.

Etiwanda Railway Station

This mission revival styled station was constructed in 1914, and it was a part of the Pacific Electric Line. It served as a way to shorten the trip that citrus growers had to make to get produce to Cucamonga. Right now, the station is going through renovation. It hasn’t been determined how it will be used in the future.

Sam Maloof Residence, Workshop and Gardens

Remembered for his beautiful contemporary furniture, Sam Maloof was one of American’s most admired craftsmen. This Rancho Cucamonga landmark has plenty of historic charm, and it is located in the foothills of the city. There are two weekly tours of the residence, workshop and gardens. Other group tours can be requested via appointment. The Sam and Alfreda Maloof Foundation for Arts and Crafts maintains the landmark.